Home | Dominican Republic | Write a Review | Blog | Advertise

Cell phones

Hey,

I’m new to Dominican travel and would like to know how operable my cell phone will be in the DR. I am a Verizon customer from Maryland, U.S.

Gary

Call Verizon and get international calling added to your account for a month, turn the phone on a you will likely see Orange network and dial direct as normal, that is how Rogers A T & T works

[b]Actually for a Verizon customer with the right international coverage I think the DR carrier will be Verizon - but then again, I’ve never done it because my vacations are cell-free zones.

Gregg
Mod.[/b]

Leave your cell phone at home and enjoy your holidays.

I told family, friends and work…the cell is on the kitchen table.

Enjoy your holidays !!

;D

OK as a US person your phone will be triband = it will operate from the DR. Costs you will need to ask your provider, is it worth it? I doubt it! I find if I need to ring the UK from the hotel it doesn’t cost that much. I keep my cell on for texts which still cost to receive as well as send but cheaper than ringing. When I checked with T-Mobile my provider incoming calls would cost me £1.30 per min, outgoing £1.40. Text 30p to receive and 40p to send. As I now ring lots of people in the DR when I’m out there I but an Orange Sim card and use that most of the time or the hotel phone.

Cheers Amandalou :-*

As one who learnt the hard way in the past…know the costs before using it there! :slight_smile:
(with a cell phone from Canada)

I have Verizon, and when I went in June it was about 69c/minute. Forget what the roaming etc was, so it’d be a good idea to check. As someone else said, call Verizon first to enable international dialing.