Home | Dominican Republic | Write a Review | Blog | Advertise

My snorkel mask fogs up. Any tips?

My snorkel mask fogs up. Its clear as day for about 20 seconds. I tried spitting in it, any other tips?

Having spent some time in the sailing community, I was told the secret is GEL toothpaste … very important NOT to use PASTE!!! Smear it on, leave it for a few minutes, then rinse completely clean.
I have tried it myself, once, and it did work.
My problem now is that my mask leaks (I think it’s too tight)??

use the toothpaste to clean the mask when you first get it [use fingers to rub it around to prevent scratches], then when you are ready to go out, use your saliva on the inside of the mask[ rub it all over the inside of the mask with your fingers] then rinse [ fresh water is best] and go diving. use the saliva everytime before you go out. you can get a tube of artificial spit [i can’t remember the name] at dive shops but your own is cheaper

I’ve been doing this for 3 years, but am quitting it this April. It hasn’t worked for me really at all. I’ve now bought a defogger product which I hope will give me better results. We’ll see. The fogging has been so bad that I have had to terminate my snorkeling day. I don’t tolerate that bad performance from spit!

Kaki

As an avid diver I can say the best is to Spit…
thats right spit on the inside of your mask rub it around with your fingers and rince it out by swirling sea water 2-3 times and Volia no more fog. Yes I know this sounds aweful and gross, but it works. and I don’t mean horking a lugie in your mask just a little CLEAR saliva will do the trick!
I however have never tried to toothpaste gel thing maybe that works too…
Have Fun!!
FishGirl :sunglasses:

WTH… Tube of artificial spit. I bet that guy is now a millionare… lol

The divers in our house like Sea Drops.

Here’s a link to a scuba message board where there’s a discussion on mask defogging …

http://www.scubaboard.com/showthread.php?t=29574