Home | Dominican Republic | Write a Review | Blog | Advertise

Punta Cana as a summer holiday

Hi to all of Debs posters

Just thinking about heading back down for a summer holiday and I am looking for some input from people who have tried it.

What occupancy levels do the resorts run at on average for this time of year?

Any problems with construction or cutbacks to service?

Is the heat bearable from 12 -3 pm?{ I know it is an individual thing but I have only found temperature and not really humid ex readings]

Any thoughts or advise at all would be greatly appreciated ???

Steve

I’m a teacher so the only time I get to go on vacation is the summer. We have been to Punta Cana 3 times in the summer and are going for our 4th time this summer. The heat is bearable as the breeze is great, especially at the beach. The resort we stay at is full but not so full that it is lacking in service. One year we did hear some construction next to our resort (Iberostar Grand Bavaro) but we requested a room further away and they quickly accommodated us.
Hope this helps!

We spent a week in Punta Cana in the summer of '07 and two weeks in the summer of '08.

Occupancy rates were higher than you’d envision. In fact, the Riu was busier in August than it was the week of Christmas.

There’s a steady breeze in Punta Cana so it keeps things comfortable. There’s a lot less beach walkers in the summer though. :sunglasses:

We went to Punta Cana 2 years ago in July and it was great. The resort was busy but not filled…it was hot, yes, but not unbearable. It was hotter by the pool than by the beach b/c of that great ocean breeze. In fact, we liked it so much that we are getting married there this July!