Home | Dominican Republic | Write a Review | Blog | Advertise

School Supplies in Cayo Santa Maria and Luggage?

;D We’re planning our 4th trip to Cuba for August 09, can’t wait :sunglasses:

I’ve previously been to Cayo Coco and Guillermo, on all 3 occasions, we have taken pencils, pens and toothbrushes with us for the children to hand over to hotel workers and the reps from the colourful cuba tour.

I am now a school teacher and would like to up my donations on a larger scale, and help out in any way possible. Is there a drop off point in Santa Clara/Cayo Santa Maria (staying at the melia las dunas)? What sort of stuff do they need? Already decided on pens and pencils, paper and basic clothing, any other suggestions?

I know some tour ops offer a charity luggage allocation. We’re flying with Thomas Cook, we have previously traveled with First choice and got an unlimited amount of luggage for an orphanage. Does anyone have any experience of this?

Also, are there any children’s hospices or orphanages that would take donations?

Sorry to bombard with questions, but I like to help out when away…

Also, in the past, we have left shampoo and toiletry gifts for the hotel staff along with tips. Does anyone have any ideas for other more original gifts?

Cayo Santa Maria is 40 km from the nearest town (Caibarien), so if you want to bring things for someone other than resort workers you will likely need to take a cab or rent a car to get it there. As far as what to bring…I think kids clothing & shoes are always appreciated. School supplies, fine but paper is heavy to carry! Good luck.