Home | Dominican Republic | Write a Review | Blog | Advertise

Shopping In Samana? DR?

This is my first time going anywhere past North America. We are going to Samana DR in Jan. I have looked on the forum but cannot seem to find what I am looking for.

1. What is the currency conversion from CDN to DOR and USD to DOR. Does anyone know where I can print off a cheat sheet to carry around with us?
  2. Is buying things there cheap? Like souveniers and stuff?
  3. Has anyone been to the Wynham Samana that can tell me about it more in detail?
  4. I am going to be taking my four year old and one year old… is taking a stroller and play pen a good idea or just extra baggage?

Any comments, suggestions and helpful advise would be totally appreciated as we are SO NEW to any vacation outside of the US / Canada!

THANK YOU

the currency diff,changes day to day,my rule of thumb is 100 dominican peso’s is 4 dollars cdn or 3 dollars us ,you will be on the las terrenas side of the samana penn. not the samana side.Their are lots of shops in las terrenas, you can try haggleing about the price. Wynham resort you re staying at is on playa coson a fair distance from las terrenas so you will need ataxi or they might have a shuttle service? …my opinion is a stroller would be just extra baggage, more then likely the play pen to…you are going to a beautiful area beautiful beach but it can be rough at times, lots of great walking, have a great trip…

[quote author=fbennett board=QuestionsabouttheSamanaPeninsula thread=1165891274 post=1165891274]This is my first time going anywhere past North America. We are going to Samana DR in Jan. I have looked on the forum but cannot seem to find what I am looking for.

1. What is the currency conversion from CDN to DOR and USD to DOR. Does anyone know where I can print off a cheat sheet to carry around with us?
  2. Is buying things there cheap? Like souveniers and stuff?