Home | Dominican Republic | Write a Review | Blog | Advertise

Single travel?

I’m new to this and newly single. Thinking of a much needed r&r in the DR. Any comments or suggestions on where to go as a new single woman?

I moved your post from Meeting Place.
I’m sure you’ll get lots of suggestions from our readers. IMHO, you’ll be better off with a 3 or 4 star property because they tend to be a bit more friendly and easy going. Hence you’ll find it easier to meet people to hang with, have a few drinks and have some dinner companions.

momtwo5. I have been wondering this for the last two years, as I can’t find anyone who can either afford to go, the desire to go or the time to go! Used to go with hubby, and then with my daughter two years ago. I’ll be reading this thread for sure.

Bad combination. :frowning:
I guess if you really want to go, you might have to bite the bullet and pay the single supplement. Whatever, there’s lots of places that can handle single travelers. They don’t cater to them, but except for the fact that the pricing is based on two sharing a room, there shouldn’t be any problems. I know that due to a combination of conditions, my son ended up traveling alone a few years ago. He met tons of people and came home with a long list of email addresses.
It’s relatively easy to meet people, especially if you take part in the ‘organized’ activities (darts, bocce ball, merengue lessons, Spanish lessons, mini golf, the pool games…). Taking a tour also helps. You can meet people while on the tour and since you now have something in common, it gives you a reason to strike up a conversation after you have returned. Even “hi’ I’m from xxxxxx. How are you today?” works. If not, try it on someone else. ::slight_smile: