Home | Dominican Republic | Write a Review | Blog | Advertise

Traveling alone

I have traveled alone extensively all over DR but I am a man. Looks like you are not.
Best advise I can give is to go to dr1.com and read everything you can on Sankies. Some, not all, resort workers “prey” on tourists with affection. As long as you make yourself aware of the rules of the game you can play or not as you choose.

Thanks for responding, makes me rethink this as the point of going on vacation is relaxing and drinking cocktails on the beach!

It’s not that big a deal. If you’re not interested, just say “no” and mean it. They’ll move on to easier prey. Over the years we’ve met several gals traveling alone and none had any issues. They associated with us, had a few meals and a dance partner and that was the end of it.

I have been traveling alone to the DR since 2005. You will absolutely get a lot of attention but as said above, say no and live your life the way you want to. You can take the approach of being closed off and reserved which will make you unappealing prey or you can be friendly and participate and let it be known that you want a good clean vacation with the intention of going home as you arrived.

Since 2005 I haven’t heard that women traveling alone are the victim of thefts or other crime on the resort any more than couples. Make sure you know where you are and with whom if you leave the safety of the resort. That doesn’t mean you shouldn’t leave the resort, just do it with the appropriate amount of wisdom that going somewhere unknown in a foreign land has associated with it.

You may find like many of us do that once you travel alone, it’s hard to travel with another person in the future! If not hard, at least you’ll look back on your solo vacation with fondness and look forward to the next one.