Home | Dominican Republic | Write a Review | Blog | Advertise

Vacations from Halifax

I was wondering what online sites folks are using when vacationing out of Halifax and if people have stumbled upon any successful strategies to maximize choice while of course minimizing expense when traveling from this end of the country.

I am not sure there is any way to get around the vastly inferior selection of vacation options when traveling out of Halifax as opposed to the big smoke (aka Toronto) and of course the premium we pay to travel. While admittedly I am not a travel professional I cannot grasp why there is a $200$ plus difference when booking a trip to a particular resort in Cuba for example from Halifax rather than Toronto, especiall since the tour companies are sending full aircraft from both locations.

Currently I monitor tripcentral, flightcenter, and selloffvacations. I would be appreciative if anyone has additional suggestions.

Thanks.

Jenn

Jenn

I usually search on selloffs or Bel Air Travel to find out what is available and then go to my local Travel Agent and she can book the trip at the same price. I prefer to use a TA to get that extra level of security, plus I know that Marylou will go that extra mile for me!

One thing I have noticed is that (for example) Air Transat does not offer anything out of Halifax until February on their own website, however, selloffs did have a direct Air Transat flight out of Halifax for January. It is once a week on Saturday and only to Varadero. I just booked for January 10 through my TA.

If you look more closely at selloffs, etc. there are some reasonable prices via other airports. I found one to Holquin via Ottawa but Air Canada only has an ~ 80 minute window for transferring both ways. WHich could be very dicey in January. Otherwise, there is usually a 6 - 7 hour wait in Montreal or Toronto for the Halifax connection, usually from 00:30 to 07:30.

Hope this helps. Valleyguy

valleyguy:

Thanks for the feedback.